Perinatal Advisory Council Members Announced

Texas Health and Human Services Commission November 26, 2013Articles

The Perinatal Advisory Council, created by House Bill 15 of the 83rd Texas Legislature (Regular Session), develops and recommends criteria for designating levels of neonatal and maternal care, including specifying the minimum requirements to qualify for each level designation and a process for the assignment of levels of care to a hospital, makes recommendations for dividing the state into neonatal and maternal care regions, examines utilization trends in neonatal and maternal care, and recommends ways to improve neonatal and maternal outcomes. The council must submit a report with its recommendations to the Health and Human Services Commission and the Department of State Health Services by September 1, 2015.


  • Dr. Eugene Toy, Chair, Obstetrics-gynecology, Houston
  • Dr. Emily Briggs, family practice physician who provides obstetrical care in a rural community, New Braunfels
  • Dr. Michael Cardwell, maternal fetal medicine, El Paso
  • Dr. Frank Cho, neonatologist in Level III or IV NICU, Austin
  • Amy Day, rural hospital representative, Port Lavaca
  • Barbara Greer, nurse with expertise in perinatal health, McKinney
  • Dr. Charleta Guillory, pediatrician, Houston
  • Allen Harrison, representative from a hospital with Level II NICU, Austin
  • Dr. John Harvey, neonatologist from rural area, Amarillo
  • Dr. Lisa Hollier, obstetrics-gynecology, Houston
  • Dr. Dynio Honrubia, neonatologist in Level III or IV NICU, McAllen
  • Annette Perez, general hospital representative, El Paso
  • Dr. George Saade, maternal fetal medicine, Galveston
  • Dr. Michael Stanley, neonatologist, Richardson
  • Iris Torvik, nurse with expertise in maternal health, Dallas
  • Steve Woerner, children’s hospital representative, Corpus Christi

More Information

Please contact

Keep Politicians out of the exam room

The relationship between you and your OBG is threatened.
Help protect Texas women:

or skip to »